#Sewprompted2016 Applique

IMG_7019

If you follow along on Instagram you may have seen the hashtag #sewprompted2016 it was started by Kerry from Kidgiddy and its a weekly challenge for sharing pictures. This week is Applique. So here is my best applique project to date 😉 I have done a few others that aren’t my favorites, lets just say I’m still learning.

IMG_7022

This pillow is hands down my favorite make from the book Sweetly Stitched Handmades by Amy Sinibaldi. I was pretty intimidated by it, so of course I chose it as my first big make out of the book! After the first bit of assembly confusion it came together so smoothly. The applique part was my favorite… Along with the hand stitching, machine sewing and final assembly. Pretty much this is a fun make from start to finish! If you try it you wont be board and its just so pretty too!

IMG_7023

In fact, I love this pillow so much that I have a second one all cut out and ready to sew! I’ll have a whole post with pictures walking you through it, but really though if I could make this with minimal sewing knowledge ANYONE can!

But back to my #sewprompted word Applique! As I said, this was my first attempt at applique and with only a few tutorials and Youtube videos I wasn’t too sure I was doing it right. Well I am happy to say it has held up under a LOT with three boys using it as a shield,  head covering and of course, for pillow fights! So I guess all you need for applique is basic sewing knowledge and Youtube!

Applique is a lot of fun!  I hope you will stay tuned to see my second Starburst Dresden Plate Pillow next month (hopefully) and maybe even make one yourself!

Thanks for stopping buy! I will leave you with this cute little Prince Charming Heather Ross frog:

IMG_7020

4 Responses to “#Sewprompted2016 Applique”

  1. Cindy Says:

    It’s gorgeous! Complicated things scare the you-know-what out of me. That and the fact that it takes me awhile to decipher written instructions.

  2. homedreamer07 Says:

    This is beautiful! It reminds me of my grandmother’s sewing, which means lots of good memories.

  3. amy morinaka Says:

    Hi Faith! Your applique pillow is simply beautiful. You make the sweeeetest creations… Thanks so much for sharing amazing lovelinesss♥

  4. Jenni Says:

    This is by far one of my absolute favorites of yours!! It’s so beautiful!!! I’m so glad you’re making another one. I can’t wait to see it!!! I want to try this pattern out…someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

