Sewing Illustration inspired by Minki Kim

Have you ever heard of “sewing illustration”? I hadn’t until last year when I became Instagram friends with a woman named Minki Kim. She is so sweet and approachable that I had no idea who she really was until I started seeing her work in magazines at my local shops! The illustrations she creates are so detailed and intricate, they  look like a hybrid of hand stitching and pencil sketching when in reality it’s all done with a sewing machine, a sewing machine!  I had the honor of winning one of her Instagram giveaways last year which included some adorable handmade goodness and a set of her patterns. I was pretty intimidated to try this new sewing method until last week, when Minki mentioned she couldn’t wait to see what I made up. Well, that sure motivated me!

IMG_7299

This little rain cloud was my first attempt, after those tiny raindrops I set my stitch length down to 1.0 instead of 1.2. *Tiny* stitches are the key here!

IMG_7300

I used this pattern set (available here for less than a dollar!) to make a Spring theme wall hanging. In case you wondered, I’ve decided to skipping right to Spring even if it is still freezing here in Illinois!

IMG_7303

What says Spring better than tiny flowers and for this I turned to my new collection of Sevenberry Floral fabrics from Ministry of Fabric and used a tiny bit of each print.

IMG_7309

Minki’s sweet little patterns really are perfect for using up all the precious scraps we can’t bear to throw away. (And I know you have a bag, box or drawer FULL of almost unusable tiny bits just like I do!).

IMG_7310

Just check out how tiny the details are! I used a navy thread by Aurifil in 50 weight and went very slowly. Even going slowly, these little pictures come together pretty quick and are SO fun to make from start to finish!

IMG_7297

So here’s what my tiny makes turned into, little Spring windows. That saying, “April showers bring May flowers” kept running through my mind as I stitched so it had to be included! The tiny flowers at the bottom were just hand drawn on and sewn over, pretty rough but not bad for a first attempt.

IMG_7313

And of course, tiny hand stitching to finish off each little window. My mom loved this so much as I showed her my rough in progress pictures so this will be heading off to live with her. It will make a sweet little wall hanging or small table topper. Each “window” measures 3 inches.

Make sure to check out all of Minki’s beautiful work! So much inspiration for adding illustration into your sewing projects and tips for how to use her patterns. She also has a book coming out later this year (I believe) that is sure to be filled with incredible makes and inspiration! I can’t wait!

Now off to work on my Dresden pillow 😉

8 Responses to “Sewing Illustration inspired by Minki Kim”

  1. Tammy Edwards Says:

    I love your little Spring windows! You’d never know it was your first sewing illustration, it’s so pretty! Awesome job! I love Minki’s work too, each piece she creates is a little masterpiece! I want to give sewing illustration a try, I have been saving precious little bits for the day I am brave enough to attempt it. XO

  2. Kristin Says:

    Sewing illustratin + Liberty = Adorable! How fun that it will go to your mom. You did a wonderful job. Did you put interfacing under each area when you did the illustration? That makes it a little easier.

    And yes, her book is coming out in August!

    • saranaave Says:

      No I didn’t, and I’m sure I did it all wrong. I can’t wait to learn more. I didn’t post pictures of my making it because I’m sure I did do it the wrong way. 🙈 Thanks for stopping by💕

  3. Kelly Says:

    Oh, Faith! Your “beginner” efforts always amaze me! Beautiful work obviously made with love. —Kelly Burroughs, @kellyshouldbesewing, another beginner

  4. Jenni Says:

    I love this mini you made! It’s so pretty!!! I love how you used Liberty. You are so inspiring!!!! Thank you, thank you!!! xoxo

  5. Sew Illustrated Blog Tour and Giveaway | Sarana Ave Says:

    […] I had the pleasure of trying some of Minki’s patterns earlier this year which you can see HERE and HERE. I have been looking forward to the release of this book all year and to be a part of the […]

Leave a Reply

