Ruffle Zipper Tutorial

The other week I got an idea for making a ruffle zipper to use on pouches to be kind of the focal point. Though I’m sure I am not the inventor of this idea, I couldn’t seem to find any tutorials or even pictures of this. So here we go, bear with me as I am new to instructions.

IMG_7911

Here is what you will need to start:

-Two strips of fabric 18 x 2 1/4 inches

-8 inch zipper

-Clover clips

-Fabric glue

IMG_7955

Start out by ironing your long strips in half length wise. Next, leaving a little “tail” at the end make a small fold (pictured top left). Your ruffle will vary depending on how big of a fold you make and how close together you place the folds. Also keep in mind this is a hand made ruffle, it doesn’t need to be exact or perfect to look great. Clip the first ruffle fold to hold in place. In the bottom left picture you can see how I pinch the fabric to make the fold. Continue making ruffle folds and clipping in this method until you reach the end leaving a bit of a tail.

IMG_7960

Next, use a little fabric glue and align the ruffles raw edge with the zippers edge. I used the clips to hold it in place while the glue sets. After the glue has set, use a very scant 1/4 inch seam to sew it down. As you can see, I still have yet to use an actual zipper foot. Instead I just hold on tight and take it slow. Now you can see the one side is done and ready to be top stitched onto your project. Repeat for the next side.

Tips:

-Use Clover clips to hold the first ruffle back as you sew the next side on to keep it out of the way.

-Before you sew the second ruffle side down check to make sure your ruffle folds are going in the same direction.

IMG_7939

Now you have a ruffle zipper ready to make any project extra special! There are lots of tutorials for sewing with lace zippers which should help with any questions (I am no pro when it comes to sewing with zippers but if I can figure it out then so can you!). I will quickly show you how I added this one to my little boxy pouch.

IMG_7962

Place your outer fabric right side up on top of the edge of the zipper with the ruffle part standing up (top left picture), use a glue stick to hold it in place. Turn it over and place the lining fabric face down aligned to the edge of the zipper (top right picture). Hold carefully in place and sew along the edge using a 1/4 inch seam. The bottom left picture shows how it will look after both sides are attached. The next step is top stitching the ruffle down. Once again I am using my normal sewing foot here so I just take it slow. I went with about a 1/8 inch seam for the top stitch and tried to keep the ruffle close to the zipper teeth instead of a more exposed zipper look.

IMG_7946

Here is my finished ruffle zipper pouch!

IMG_7951

I just love how the ruffle zipper is the focal point of this bag.

IMG_7950

Find the tutorial I used for the bag part here. And of course I couldn’t stop with just one, here are the others I started out with.

IMG_7792

Denim and Liberty ruffle zipper pouch with ruffle wristlet.

IMG_7713

This one placed along the top of my bag was applique stitched down so the ruffle didn’t stick out. Looks cute but I prefer the zipper to lay flat on the bag.

IMG_7916

And my favorite one so far!

I hope this was helpful for you, please let me know if you have any questions. I would love to see your own ruffle zippers!

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Ruffle Zipper Tutorial”

  1. Sarah J. Says:

    I love this idea– such a fun way to dress up a pouch!

  2. Rosemaryflower Says:

    This is beautiful!

  3. iquiltsewwhat Says:

    I’m so glad you did a tutorial for this! Your sewing is so lovely!

  4. elnorac Says:

    Thanks for the great tutorial! Now I wanna put ruffle zippers on everything!

  5. Carla Peicheff Says:

    I just linked you up on my blog… Thanks for sharing!
    http://Www.halfdozendaily.typepad.com

  6. Diane Says:

    love it…great tutorial and instructions. Where would we be w/o those cute Clover clips?

  7. A Spoonful of Sugar Blog Tour {Part 4} - A Spoonful of Sugar Says:

    […] sewing adventures over on her blog, Sarana Ave. She recently shared a great tutorial for making a Ruffle Zipper (see below) which is a pretty addition to a box […]

  8. A Spoonful of Sugar Blog Tour {Part 4} | world is vulnerable Says:

    […] sewing adventures over on her blog, Sarana Ave. She recently shared a great tutorial for making a Ruffle Zipper (see below) which is a pretty addition to a box […]

Leave a Reply

