A Spoonful Of Sugar Blog Tour

Blog Tour Banner

Hi and welcome to my stop on the A Spoonful of Sugar Blog Tour! Let me just say what an honor it is to be sewing along with Lisa and all the incredible makers on the tour. I “met” Lisa last year on Instagram during a sew along and quickly fell in love with her fresh, clean Zakka style. So when she announced the release of her first book, I knew it would be on my “must buy” list. And of course she did not disappoint. Filled with sweet things to make, beautiful pictures and step by step instructions. Possibly my favorite features are the illustrations to show many of the steps, which are a life saver for this visual learner.

IMG_8750

With 20 projects in the book, I’m sure you can imagine how hard it was to choose just one to share with you… So I made two!

IMG_8904

First up, the Pretty Patchwork Jewelry Wrap using Liberty of London prints in blues and purples along with a bright white that I had on hand. The instructions for making and assembly were very clear and the only “problem” I had was from my own lack of experience with this type of binding. I ended up hand stitching it on which turned out to be a sweet extra detail in the end. Now since I almost never wear jewelry, I found another fun use for this wrap:

IMG_8883

An English Paper Piece Kit for on the go sewing! The three pockets are the perfect size for all your EPP supplies and it even folds up nicely with them all zipped away. Personally I think this Wrap would also make a great clutch for your cash and cards!

IMG_8885

A few adjustments I made were leaving out the lining (because I’m just too lazy to drive 20 minutes for sewing supplies) and I went with simple quilting to outline the patchwork, both the lining and dense quilting would have added more stability to the wrap had I intended to use it as a jewelry wrap.

IMG_8880

Tiny hand stitching with Aurifil 28 weight thread. I just love how this dark navy print plays with the softer blues and purples from my Liberty stash and contrasts against the bright white. Which leads me to my next item from A Spoonful of Sugar Book:

IMG_8903

The tiny Cathedral Window Pincushion! Now let me just say, this has been a quilt block that I have been terrified to try! I mean just look at how many bits and pieces need to line up! Pretty overwhelming for this new and somewhat inaccurate sewer. Having said all that, I still really wanted to try it and I figured if anyone had good instructions for this it would be Lisa. So I started with just the first step and figured if I didn’t understand it I could just stop there. 11 steps later, and I am amazed at how nicely it turned out! OK, so I know its not perfect but I am REALLY happy with it!

IMG_8901

So here’s a peek of what the instructions look like. I love all the detail and step by step illustrations. I only had to Google one step which is clearly shown here but my tired mom-brain just didn’t want to comprehend it. I used a very thin Bottom Line brand thread to stitch the tiny windows closed since I didn’t want even a tiny bit of thread showing against that beautiful dark navy print.

IMG_8902

I will definitely be making more of these! the steps were fun and the hand sewing was relaxing and so rewarding to watch it take shape. The back is also this beautiful Liberty print called Summer Blooms in navy which you can find here along with all the other beautiful colorways. How pretty would these look on your Christmas tree come December in reds and greens and perfect for handmade gifts! Really I can’t wait to make more, which brings me to my next point. I am SO excited about the A Spoonful Of Sugar Sew Along coming this summer!

SAL

Please join us for an Instagram Sew Along from June 1 – August 9. We will be making projects from A Spoonful of Sugar: Sew 20 Simple Projects to Sweeten Your Surroundings Zakka Style. There will be five rounds, each lasting for two weeks which will give you plenty of time to complete a project or two from the book.  Our good friend, Amy Sinibaldi from Nana Company is the Guest Judge, with fantastic prizes for the winner of each round, plus a Grand Prize Winner, generously sponsored by Alisha from Ministry of Fabric. We really hope you join in the fun! #ASPOONFULOFSUGARSAL

It really is so much more fun to sew with friends (and prizes!) so get your copy ready and set aside a little time for yourself this summer!

If you haven’t already, check out all the other beautiful makes from the Blog Tour and get the inspiration going!

April 26            Jodie Carlton                           Ric Rac

April 27            Minki Kim                                 Minki’s Work Table

April 28            Melissa LeRay                         Oh How Sweet

April 29            Jemima Flendt                       Tied With a Ribbon

April 30            Beverley McCullough          Flamingo Toes

 

May 2              Sedef Imer                               Down Grapevine Lane

May 3              Nadra Ridgeway                     Ellis and Higgs

May 4              Amy Morinaka                        Chick Chick Sewing

May 5              Caroline Critchfield               Sew Can She

May 6              Kristyne Czepuryk                 Pretty By Hand

May 7              Bronwyn Hayes                      Red Brolly

 

May 9              Anorina Morris                       Samelia’s Mum

May 10            Peta Peace                               She Quilts A Lot

May 11            Faith Essenburg                     Sarana Ave

May 12            Angie Wilson                           Gnome Angel

May 13            Sharon Burgess                      Lilabelle Lane Creations

May 14            Stacy Olson                              Stacy Olson

 

May 16            Ayda Algin                                Cafenohut

May 17            Jennie Pickett                         Clover and Violet

May 18            Wynn Tan                                 Zakka Art

May 19            Lisa Cox                                     A Spoonful of Sugar

IMG_8892

Thank you for stopping by, feel free to look around and sign up to keep posted on more fun to come. Also thank you again to Lisa for letting me play along with the Pros on this blog tour, such an honor!

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “A Spoonful Of Sugar Blog Tour”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Thanks so much for being part of the tour Faith! I love your sweet Liberty projects. I think i need a Liberty Jewellery wrap now 🙂

  2. LJ Says:

    Sweet projects. I loved that you made the jewelry pouch into a take-a-long sewing bag. You’re right, it works perfectly for this purpose.

  3. Jenni Says:

    I love your makes Faith! Super cool how you turned the jewelry wrap into a take along hexie kit…genius idea!! I think I want to try the Cathedral Window Pincushion. You did a beautiful job with it! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Kathleen O'Grady Says:

    Very well done, love what you have made! I have wanted to make a cathedral window pincusion forever but have been too afraid but you have given me the courage to jump in and do it!

  5. A Spoonful of Sugar Blog Tour: Patchwork Jewelry Wrap | Says:

    […] May 11            Faith Essenburg                     Sarana Ave […]

  6. Donna Says:

    Love your jewellery wrap Faith, and loving its alternate use! You did an amazing job on the pincushion too, it looks so complicated! x

Leave a Reply

