Apple Farm Blog Hop

apple_farm_blog_hop_banner-600x130px

Hi friends! Welcome to my stop on Elea Lutz‘s Apple Farm Blog Hop! If you are not familiar with Elea’s incredible talent for making ADORABLE fabric lines, take a minute to check out her work! She is such a sweetie and I am honored to be a part of this fun hop.

IMG_0077

Apple Farm has an incredible range of colors that play so nicely together. I thought of leaving the pink colorway out to make for a really fun “boys only” blanket but in the end even my boys liked the pink prints and wanted to leave them in. This fabric was just begging to be made into a picnic quilt, so I set to work right away.

IMG_0307

My original plan was a quilt out of the book Simplify by Camille Roskelley. I made up all the blocks which were super fun to assemble, then spent an entire day trying to get the layout just right. I am not a perfectionist by any means (as I will show you) but something just wasn’t clicking for me. So with the help of my niece Lily, (who just happened to be in town for the day) we came up with a new layout.

IMG_0676

I love the smaller squares within the large “boxes” that are framed with one and two inch sashing. I only wish I had made more blocks to make up a massive quilt. But 50 x 50 inches should do for now. The simplicity and complete lack of color order make this the perfect “keep in the car quilt” to use for picnics, game day and to keep the kids cozy while the car heats up in the winter.

IMG_0678

Mmmm I just love these colors, definitely a retro feel going on here which is just perfect for the cute prints.

IMG_0683

Sweet little bears, Yellow duckies with pom pom hats, baby birds and the cutest little chicken butts you ever will see. Oh and don’t even get me started on Elea’s perfect little vintage flowers!

IMG_0682

Each of the different floral prints are just so adorable and would be the perfect addition to any patchwork project! And see, cutest chicken butt EVER! Oh and a nest full of chirping baby birdies in an apple tree? The cuteness just keeps on coming!

IMG_0679

My minimal quilt lines were inspired by Heidi of Fabric Mutt who is a master at balancing  vintage and modern. Now this is where you will see (or NOT see) how little of a perfectionist I am. What I am not showing up close are the ripples in my quilt lines that are the result of not having a walking foot. After being highly bummed out by what was supposed to be simple quilt lines, I finally broke down and ordered a walking foot. Too late for this quilt but will hopefully help for my next one. Needless to say, It would be a real shame to spend days undoing my less than perfect quilting to fix a few (read: many) mistakes. This imperfect quilt is already being snuggled, used to make forts, has been spilled on and is currently crumpled in a chair patiently waiting to be pulled out and used in this same manner all over again. Quilts, well MY quilts anyways are made to be loved and USED; imperfections and all. For me, it’s just part of my learning and growing as a maker process, and that is something I am willing to embrace, learn from and try better at next time.

IMG_0680

Did I say how much I LOVE the greens in this line? I am a green loving girl at heart and these are just perfect shades from pale mint to deep grass green. Also green flannel for the backing makes this an extra warm and snuggly blanket.

IMG_0681

This boy has had his eye on this quilt ever since I started making it. He even climbed on my lap to help sew with me and asked “me have it in my bed?”. How could I resist that little face?! Melt my heart! EDIT: the Apple Farm quilt has been in bed with him for the past three nights now and he couldn’t be happier about it.

IMG_0677

So there you have it! My Apple Farm make! Thank you to Elea for inviting me along on this fun hop and to Penny Rose Fabrics and Riley Blake Designs for sending such beautiful fabrics. I hope you will head on over to see what my friend Veronica has made today and tomorrow check out Megan and Amanda‘s makes.

Thank you all for stopping by!

 

6 Responses to “Apple Farm Blog Hop”

  1. nat donnelly Says:

    gorgeous faith

  2. Karyn Komatsu Says:

    What a fun quilt. I love the binding.

  3. Elea Says:

    Faith!! What a precious quilt and I loved reading your post. I agree, a quilt is made for snuggling, forts, and to be used and enjoyed. Precious sweet boy, too (that face!!). It lights up my heart to hear that he’s enjoying the quilt on his bed. Thank you so much for the sweet words. It means a lot – and I am so excited to see your beautiful work with this line. Thank you, friend! xx

  4. coleandtaffy Says:

    Well, that is one gorgeous quilt! And I love the quilting!

  5. Kathleen A O'Grady Says:

    Faith your quilt looks perfect and so adorable! I love it!

  6. Dori Smith Troutman Says:

    Faith, I love the quilt. You did such a beautiful job and I’m glad you didn’t leave out the pink! 🙂 It is perfect!

    – Dori @redfeedsack –

Leave a Reply

