Long Overdue Makes

img_0829

I have a confession. See those Playground fabrics up there? Ya, I got them in August and have just now completed two projects with them. I feel like there’s maybe some sort of quilters jail I should be put in, then again us quilters are famous for our WIP’s (work in progress) so maybe I am finally just your average maker with a pile of half made projects. Don’t worry though; they have been pet and played with plenty and ever so slowly turned into something sweet.

First up, the I Spy print reminded me so much of my three boys at play in our yard that I knew almost immediately what I wanted to make with it.

img_1931

A little portrait wall hanging for our home, complete with matching linen, hand stitching, and sewing illustration name tags. My boys are ages 9, 5, and 3 and they look VERY similar to these pictures, so much so that my middle son asked how we got their pictures on to the fabric.

img_1936

My sewing illustration cursive is a lot like my cursive hand writing: messy. But, I tried my best and got better as I went. It’s no joke sewing tiny words with a sewing machine!

img_1935

See, better already! I used Aurifil thread 2745 in a dark inky blue color going over the letters twice with the 50 weight thread. The blue hand stitching is a double strand of color 2815 in 28 weight which I need to order more of.

img_1874

And Zachary. My hand stitching was so rusty when I first started this little project that I had to use a piece of washi tape just to stitch a straight line next to. Fortunately, creativity seems to be like riding a bike and with a little bit of patience and practice it comes back.

Next up I made a pillow to match.

img_1933

I used the blue colorway and added some Art Gallery Denim in Indigo Shadow which matched pretty perfectly. This block is one I used over the summer for a QAYG quilt I made for Lecien which can be found here. It was a lot of fun doing a small “quilt as you go” pillow and I just love how it turned out. There’s where all my Aurifil blue thread went! All that quilting!

img_1934

These colors are just so striking. I think I need to make one with the pinks next. The back is a Paperie print with an envelope closure and I managed to stuff a 16 inch pillow form into it which is a snug fit but will work fine.

img_1932

So there! It may have taken four months, but I finally have a cute finished bit of handmade goodness for our home. And that’s always worth the wait.

 

4 Responses to “Long Overdue Makes”

  1. Larisa Says:

    That wall hanging is so cute, Faith! What a lovely keepsake! You might need to make two more so each of your boys can have one when they grow up. 😊 The pillow is wonderful! Love the colours you chose for it. xo

  2. Rosemaryflower Says:

    These turned out so sweet. I love the machine lettering. You know it is special. With machines that can make fancy lettering, you know hand crafted is best. Your boys must be happy with the result.
    The pillow is exceptionally nice too

  3. lisacrafty Says:

    That pillow is stunning! Love your makes!

Leave a Reply

