Little Liberty Love

Once upon a time, long, long ago… I started a baby quilt. It was first intended for a baby gift for my niece, then a Christmas gift and now it’s much closer to a first birthday gift. Her package should be there today, so I figured it was safe to post.

img_2543

My sister and I have a fondness for small floral prints, they remind us of some sweet sheets and blankets we had growing up. Since she also has a patchwork bed quilt, I decided to stick with that patchwork theme. It was a lot of fun sorting through my stash for just the right tiny floral fabrics.

IMG_2539.JPG

Most of the prints are Liberty of London, but a sharp eye for Liberty will be able to spot some Sevenberry mixed in. The white is a Lawn fabric from Cotton and Steel which is very fine and smooth to work with (and much cheaper than Liberty!).

img_2544

A few tiny creatures thrown in for sweet little girls to look for when they should be napping, something my sister and I were famous for 😉

img_2540

I wanted something that would be super soft and snug-able, so I went with the old fashioned tie method using a pale violet floss from Aurifil Thread and tied each knot twice. The backing is a soft blanket fabric I picked up from the remnant bin on clearance at Joann’s for like $6, which made me feel a little cheap until I remembered how expensive Liberty fabrics are! So, I guess it all evens out. This ended up being a playpen size blanket, at just 30×36 inches, making it small and light enough to be used and loved and dragged all over the place by a sweet little girl.

img_2542

Little Liberty Love. Once I actually got sewing this, it came together so quickly and was a joy to make. I would love to work on another, so if you are in need of a very sweet baby gift this year, just let me know and I would be happy to customize one just for you. After all, who doesn’t love a handmade gift, and I have a stash full of tiny floral prints.

2 Responses to “Little Liberty Love”

  1. Rosemaryflower Says:

    this is a really cute quilt. I love all of the fabrics
    Well done and thank you for sharing

  2. Gerry Says:

    Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely, except this post provides good understanding even.|

Leave a Reply

