Hand Quilting in Progress

Hi friends!

I’ve been slowly, slowly working on a project for next month and though it seems like I have nothing to show for all my hard work, I thought you might like a little peek.

IMG_2938.JPG

If you follow me on Instagram you have undoubtedly seen lots of this adorable Bunnies and Cream fabric by Lauren Nash for Penny Rose Fabrics. It is absolutely the cutest and I decided a special project like this needed hand quilting.

IMG_2936.JPG

Lets just say, my hand work was a little rusty. As you can see, I decided not to stress about imperfections and gave myself grace for the less than perfect stitches. Funny thing is, when you don’t stress and spend your time unpicking, you end up using that time stitching and little by little you get the hang of it. It’s true what they say, “practice makes perfect”, Β Well maybe not perfect, but pretty good will do πŸ˜‰

img_2937

See, getting better and better, little by little stitches. Isn’t this print to die for!?!? ALL the heart eye emoji’s here!

img_2935

I just happened to have this pale green Aurifil thread in 28 weight and it has been a dream to hand quilt with through these three layers. I am doing very simple quilting but just between you and me, I felt a little silly/happy when my stitches finally crossed. Ah, the simple joys of hand work, am I right?

img_2940

I have worked myself up to loading 4 small stitches on my needle by keeping one hand at the back of the quilt and using my index fingernail to make sure the needle is catching the backing fabric. I’m no pro by any means but I’ve found a hand quilting pace that works for me.img_2934

I don’t usually hand quilt, I prefer the speed of using a machine, however the change of pace is a welcome calm to our modern busy world. A calm I am enjoying immensely.

I hope you will stop back next month to see more of this adorable fabric and my finished product.

 

7 Responses to “Hand Quilting in Progress”

  1. Kristen Says:

    Beautiful. Great tips. And I just love close-up shots of hand quilting like this!

  2. transientart Says:

    It looks lovely and super charming, Faith! πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

    • saranaave Says:

      Thank you Lauren, it is the sweetest fabric, I’m glad I’m taking the time to hand quilt. I get to see all the cute details even more this wayπŸ˜‰

  3. GLENIS EBBETT Says:

    Well Faith You might realize my comments on Pretty little Valentines was meant for here, this little hand quilted quilt, so lovely.
    Glenis

  4. Karyn Says:

    Your hand quilting is lovely. This will be a treasure!

  5. Jenni Says:

    I love this post Faith!! Your hand quilting is perfection. So beautiful!!! And this fabric is a must have. I need to work this into my budget somehow! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing. I can’t wait to see the entire quilt!

Leave a Reply

