DIY Fabric Planter

IMG_4138

Hi friends! Today I have another tutorial for you ( I seem to be on a roll here with the tutorials!). See those fabric planters there? Well today I’m going to teach you to make one for your very own plant! They are so easy you can even make two or three in an afternoon or over a weekend!

IMG_4121

If you don’t already know, my favorite color is green. I love almost any green but grass green is my happy place. I’ve tried to love other colors more (green hasn’t always been “cool”, ya know?) but I always come back to green and it always, always makes me smile. So you can imagine how sad it is living in Chicago through Winter, when all the grass is covered in icky snow ( I know, I know! Snow is beautiful… for about a week then it’s just cold and gray and yucky- FOREVER! Until wonderful Spring comes along!). So last Fall, in an effort to bring more green inside for the Winter, I bought a bunch of plants! At one point my husband was worried he would come home to a jungle! Well over the next six months, I lost a number of plants (not the biggest green thumb over here). I figured I would make new “clothes” for the plants that did survive! Also, ceramic planters are pretty pricey when you need more than a couple.

IMG_4120

When I saw Botany Fabrics by Hawthorne Threads I knew it was the fabric I wanted to use for my planters. It’s a bit modern with a touch of a vintage feel to it. I chose six of my favorite prints and Hawthorne was kind enough to send them to me. SO without any more ramblings, let’s get started!

IMG_4140

DIY Fabric Planter

…..

Things you will need:

2 fat quarters of coordinating fabric

Pellon Peltex ultra firm sew-in stabilizer

(Seriously, that is all the ingredients you will need!)

The size of the planter you are working with will determine how you will need to cut your fabrics.

IMG_4132

Lets start by measuring the height and width of your planter (this one is from Lowes last year and you can use my measurements if you happen to have the same one).

Once you have your measurements, cut your Peltex to size, you want the two ends to touch but not overlap. I made mine just a bit taller than the plastic planter making my cutting measurements 6 x 19 1/2.

Next, cut your top boarder print 2 x 20 inches and your main fabric 5 x 20 inches which will give you your seam allowance to work with.

Sew your boarder print and main fabrics with right sides facing together, press seam open. Center on top of your Peltex and use clips to hold your seam allowance over the long sides.

IMG_4133

Here you can get creative with your stitching! I added several lines of Aurifil Thread stitching on the boarder print and one along the bottom making sure to catch the fabric on the back side so it stays folded over the edges nicely. You could also do some fancy free motion quilting or even sewing illustration! Just make sure to have fun with it 😉

Once the “quilting” is done, fold it so the short ends are lined up.

IMG_4134

Sew along the short edge making sure to back-stitch at the beginning and end. Trim any excess fabric from the short edge. Turn right side out.

IMG_4135

Next you will need to make a circle out of Peltex to make the base of your planter. For this I was able to place a container lid in my planter to hold the shape and trace around the circle, you could also use one of those fancy pencil things that makes circle marking easier. Your circle does not have to be perfect, just make sure its not bigger than your planter bottom and you will be fine.

IMG_4136

Cut out your Peltex circle and place on top of a coordinating fabric. Fold fabric edges over and sew around the circle.

IMG_4137

Turn your planter bottom up and place circle on top, use pins to hold into place. This last step is the longest part of the process, so put on some Netflix and enjoy a little bit of whip stitch action. Using coordinating thread, make a small whip stitch around the bottom, making sure to catch the top and bottom of your planter, removing pins as you go. Knot and hide your thread tail at the end and you are DONE!

IMG_4139

Isn’t that boarder print great? Make as many as you can and brighten up your home or someone else’s! Perfect gift for Mothers Day too!

IMG_4142

Note: The pots that are shown here have built in water trays in the bottom, however my green and pink planter one did not and let’s just say things got a little messy even a day after watering my plant. So if you don’t have a tray in your planter pot, I would recommend placing a plastic liner around your pot before placing it in your fabric planter, something like a freezer bag would probably do the trick.

IMG_4141

I just love these prints from Hawthorne Threads! If you haven’t already seen their in-house designs, make sure to check them out HERE! (Oh my goodness, they have two new lines I hadn’t seen before!!) I swear they just keep getting better and better! This is a fun way to incorporate your favorite fabrics and colors into your home, because who doesn’t want to look at pretty fabric all day!? I know I sure do!

IMG_4143

Would you just look at all that pretty green? I just love it! Also, I love me a good Snake plant and they’ve survived this long so I guess they like me back.

If you make your own Fabric Planter using my tutorial, I would love to see it over on Instagram under the #faithsfabricplanter hashtag.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you leave here encouraged and inspired to try some sewing of your own.

Special thanks to Hawthorne Threads for their beautiful fabrics!

Happy sewing, friends!

7 Responses to “DIY Fabric Planter”

  1. Nina Cotonet Says:

    love them Faith!! They look great and these fabrics are perfect. They look really good,that Pellon gives a touch

  2. Rosemaryflower Says:

    Faith, you are hilarious. – all of this killing and dripping.
    (sounds like me and plants)
    I love Hawthorn Threads fabrics. They have some incredible designs. Oh my
    These plant pot covers are so jazzy, okay maybe not jazzy, but they do look snazzy and pretty, which is my favorite style.
    I got rid of all of my plants because Miles, my cornish rex red mackerel tabby (lol) nibbles them, and licks them. So annoying, so I found new homes for my plants.
    I know where they are living now, so I will make some planter covers like these in appreciation of their adoption.
    Have a lovely rest of the week.
    ps: I love Hawthorn Threads, really a lot

  3. Veronica Says:

    I’m not sure if I understand the part about folding the fabric over the the Peltex circle. Do you cut a circle out of the fabric first or do you just fold the fabric on top of the circle with all the extra fabric on top of the Peltex? Can you show a picture of how your folded it? Do you pleat it as you go?

  4. Yolande Says:

    Bonjour
    May 06,2017
    This is a FANTASTIQUE idea. But it has to be only for glaze flower pot. Otherwise it will be wet. I love it, especially with the material you use for it..
    Merci
    Yolande

Leave a Reply

