Two Liberty Quilts, a Faith Bundle and a Giveaway

Have you seen the Liberty half square triangle quilt I made? I was trying to be so sneaky about it, only posting little glimpses on Instagram. First of all, it was a surprise gift for a sewing friend and second of all, I was making TWO of them! That’s right, two weeks before I left to go on my first sewing retreat I decided that two of my dear sewing friends needed to be spoiled and what better way to spoil sewing friends than with Liberty QUILTS!?

IMG_4821

I set to work cutting and sewing like mad using a “four at a time” HST method. I absolutely loved this quick easy method of starting with one white 8 1/2 inch square and one Liberty 8 1/2 inch square, place right sides together, sewing all around the square with a 1/4 inch seam and then cutting a big X from corner to corner which leaves you with four beautiful 5 1/2 inch blocks to work with. Easy peasy!

IMG_4876

There’s me, holding up one of my quilts at the most beautiful spot in Vermont. All the gorgeous pictures were taken by my lovely friends Cheri, Jenni and Michael Anne since my phone died right as we went to take pictures.

IMG_4825

Once all my blocks were cut and ready to go, I had a little freak out about colors and placement of blocks. Color order is not my thing, rainbows don’t come naturally to me, but something about all those colors and prints together just called for a bit of order. So I tried it and I am so happy I did! Now, I am still no pro and I didn’t want to go over board with a strict color grid but I think that subtle wave of rainbow was just what these quilts needed. After laying out the first set of quilt blocks, I decided to make the second quilt identical, so I handed my boys the second stack of blocks and told them to match the prints, they had a blast!

IMG_4925

This picture came out fuzzy (we were getting attacked by bugs!) but I needed documented proof that there actually were two quilts, finished in two weeks or else you might not believe me!

IMG_4826

A bonus to the “four at a time” HST method is that the fabrics are cut on the bias which gives them a bit of stretch and ends up with perfectly matched points and minimal effort! Seriously, my points never all line up this well! I used a solid white cotton from Joann’s and a solid white flat sheet for the backing which made the quilts SO soft. I went with Aurifil 50 weight minimal quilting down every other row since I was short on time (and working with a machine that doesn’t like to play nice during quilting) and I loved the outcome, they have more of a soft and fluffy comforter feel to them making it the ideal snuggle blanket.

IMG_4822

Here is my friend Jenni and I, we should have gotten one with Cheri too but picture taking was just not at the top of my priority list (unlike, talking, eating, sewing and just enjoying our time together!). I should note here that these two girls have spoiled me rotten with hand made gifts over the past two years, shared generously with me their fabrics and notions and are truly dear friends (even if solely over text). I truly hope they love and use their quilts and wear them thin from use. After all, quilts are made to be used and loved!

IMG_4824

I just love the reflection of the quilt in the pond! Like a watercolor painting.

IMG_4875

People are always telling me that they have Liberty fabric but don’t know what to do with it, or they don’t know how to sew with it, or my personal favorite: they are saving it for something “really special” (as if everything we makers make isn’t already special enough!). If this is you, I would just like to encourage you to give it a try! I started sewing with Liberty when I was a very new sewer, so clearly if I could do it then, you can do it now! Liberty pairs so nicely with solid cottons, linen or even denim. I like to add it in whenever I can, mixing it right in with all my other quilting cottons! Just give it a try, I know you will love it!

IMG_4927

I have curated a special “Faith” bundle with some of my favorite Liberty prints, available from Duckadilly Fabrics in fat 16ths, fat 8ths and fat quarters which you can find HERE. It’s the perfect collection to add to your Liberty stash or the perfect bundle to get your Liberty stash started, either way I know you will love working with this striking, silky fabric!

IMG_4823

For your chance to WIN a Faith’s fat 8th bundle, head over to my Instagram post, follow both myself, Duckadilly and tag a friend or two in the comments. Winner will be selected at random on Monday.

Thank you so much for stopping by, I truly hope you leave here feeling inspired to try your own sewing projects… And maybe even a little Liberty ๐Ÿ˜‰

Special thanks to Lesley form Duckadilly Fabrics for sponsoring the giveaway and for always having a fabulous Liberty selection and the best customer service.

11 Responses to “Two Liberty Quilts, a Faith Bundle and a Giveaway”

  1. Rosemaryflower Says:

    OH MY these two quilts are just charming! I adore them both and so well deserved to friends. You are a sweet friend too

  2. Teri Says:

    How many hst did you have? What size did it come out to be? I love this๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. Dori Troutman Says:

    Oh Faith. Amazing. I think your friends are so special to have YOU in their lives. What a treasure their quilt will be. You did such a gorgeous job. What size were the quilts?

    I have used that method to do HST and I love it too. I didn’t know what it was called; I learned to do it watching Jenny from the Missouri Star Quilt Company tutorial. It is amazing how fast it is! And yes… I so agree on how it makes the points match. It makes pinwheels to nice.

    I want to hear more about your time at your sewing retreat! ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it must’ve been totally amazing. It sure looks like it was a beautiful location!

    Loved this post Faith!

  4. Dori Troutman Says:

    Oh P.S.

    I’m sort of embarrassed to admit I’ve NEVER sewn Liberty fabric. Never owned any. I’m thinking it is time to head out to Duckadilly and get my Faith bundle and make something “Faith Inspired”! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs…

  5. Cecilia Pakron Says:

    So beautiful!! Liberty love for sure!

  6. janequiltsslowly Says:

    What lovely gifts for your sewing friends! Your bundle is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

