Trying New Things

For years I told myself (and everyone else) that I wasn’t a sewer. People always assumed I sewed and I was always quick to correct them, I didn’t want to be “that” girl (whoever that was). Well years went by and people change, usually in unexpected ways, and I found myself needing and actually WANTING to sew.

A few years have passed and lately I’ve been feeling the desire to paint. I kept telling myself I’m not a painter, I’m not an artist, my grandma was but she hadn’t passed her skills down to me. Growing up with creativity all around me, drawing, painting, sewing, carpentry, writing, gardening and baking must have rubbed off without my even knowing it. While I was busy living my life, the seeds that were passed down from generations before were busy taking root and waiting to sprout.

After returning from my weekend sewing trip to Vermont, I couldn’t stop thinking about painting the beautiful place we stayed in. The scenery was incredible, full of lush green and the most vivid colors. They moved me in a way that I haven’t been moved by a place in years, probably because we never go anywhere…But still! It was breathtaking! Days and a couple of weeks went by with this desire popping up and each time a little voice would ever so politely remind me that I am NOT an artist. But still something in me just had to try, perhaps it’s the teenage rebellion I’ve never quite outgrown, the desire to do it when I’m told I can’t or worse, I shouldn’t.

After ordering some supplies (and letting them sit on my counter for a few days) I decided I just had to try. I told myself, I may not be an artist, but let’s just see what’s inside. I reminded myself that for the first 29 years of my life I was not a sewer, I had no idea I would be sewing and actually pretty good at making quilts and things.

As I sat down, supplies all set out, I felt like a kid again. I used a pallet and brush that my grandma had given me for my 12th birthday and I could her the instructions she had tried to teach me back then. I worked from a few pictures I had and tried to keep things simple. A couple hours later, I was done. My oldest kept me company by painting along with me and it was a beautiful way to spend an afternoon.

IMG_5037

I feel like I set that scene free that had been locked in my mind for weeks. Starting out with low expectations and just trying to have fun turned out great, I’m happy with my little art piece and I truly enjoyed myself. The portions are not to scale, the details are all wrong and I’m sure this little painted house holds no structural integrity, but who cares? I had fun! Maybe one day I’ll take an art class to work on more detailed projects, but for now it’s fun to just play around. I’m glad I gave myself permission to try something new. I might not be an artist, but I also don’t consider myself a quilter either. I am just Faith and I enjoy creativity in many forms. No need for labels or titles here.

So I’m curious, what have you been wanting to try? What’s that little voice inside (or perhaps outside) telling you that you can’t do, you shouldn’t try? Go for it! I encourage you to try! Because you never know what seeds of creativity have been growing inside of you while you’ve been busy with life, just waiting to sprout up. Take a deep breath and have fun!

IMG_4867

With some dear creative friends in Goshen Vermont at Blueberry Hill Inn.

6 Responses to “Trying New Things”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I love that you followed your heart and tried. It turned out great!

  2. lisacrafty Says:

    Beautiful piece of art Faith!!! You are so special!❤️

  3. Rosemaryflower Says:

    Painting is wonderful. This first one is lovely. Faith, I would keep going with your heart.
    My want? I need to get my piano tuned. I play poorly now, I imagine. I stopped playing in March of 2013 when mom had her stroke. My life was consumed with her recovery and care of my parents which eventually involved moving them from Annapolis MD to Northern Virginia, Loudoun County. Mom had a good recovery and enjoyed a different but never the less, a life with love laughter and fun. She passed away last October at age 93. Now I have my daddy. He is a prince. So I am still spreading myself too thin but want to play the piano again. At present, the piano sounds a bit off.

    • saranaave Says:

      Oh wow, what loving care you have given to your parents. I’m sure it has been a difficult few years. I hope you will get your piano ready to play once again. I have never played but I love the sound of the piano and I bet your dad would love to hear you play again too.

Leave a Reply

