Wonder Fuse Snowflake Pillows

Today I finally get to show you what I had been working on all last month! This Summer hasn’t seen much sewing and very few finishes by me, and honestly it’s been great! I’ve enjoyed so many wonderful moments and days on end with my boys just having fun together. I am sadly facing the beginning of school and soaking up every last bit of Summer and extra time with my cuties. But back to my Summer sewing!

IMG_5258

Using Clover’s new Wonder Fuse, I’ve made two raw edge applique pillows that I am absolutely in love with! They are sort of a one of a kind project in the way that I made them, using a classic paper snowflake method. I found various paper snowflake tutorials on Pintrest , set to work folding and cutting, and folding and cutting some more until I had two suitable paper snowflakes (not to mention a pile of very unsuitable ones too!).

IMG_5257

I ironed Clover Wonder Fuse to my fabric squares, folded and marked my cut out lines and set to work cutting out each small piece. My largest and smallest scissors came in handy for this project. Next I ironed the finished snowflakes onto my pillow front fabric. Once It was all fused on (which went quickly and easily compared to other brands I have tried), I added the raw edge sewing by machine using my trusty 50 weight Aurifil thread. A lot of stopping and going and turning, but very satisfying sewing.

IMG_5259

Little Town Fabrics by Amy Sinibaldi for Art Gallery Fabrics are absolutely gorgeous! I’ve already used up several of my prints! I’ll have to order more because they are the perfect Winter fabrics along with some amazing year round ones too! I’m thinking a Little Town quilt is in my future.

IMG_5261

I took my time and spent the month of July slowly adding hand stitching to outline each snowflake. I fell in love with Aurifil’s creamy 2311 color in 28 weight, so soft and subtle.

IMG_5263

This larger pillow gave me a bit of trouble when I first finished it up, it was so boring looking even with that dark to light contrast. I decided to sleep on it and so the next morning I added this wintergreen binding and a little snowflake patch which I think kind of pulled the whole pillow together and gave it a more sophisticated look. It’s all in the details and sometimes it’s good to just sleep on it and see what comes to you by morning.

IMG_5264

Can you keep a secret? I think this little pillow is my favorite 😉 Or maybe it’s just my favorite for now because the bigger one was my favorite to start with! I’m sure you know how this goes, right? They sure brightened up my sad, worn out chair. One of these days I’ll get brave enough to try recovering it.

IMG_5266

Hand stitching is my favorite relaxing craft and I picked up some tips from my friend Mary of Sunny Day Supply. Have you seen her hand stitching? I could watch her all day long! It’s so calming and peaceful. I used another 28 weight Aurifil thread for this one in a soft gray 2600. And of course I just had to center the a Little Town scene in this snowflake.

IMG_5270

I used this stripe Les Petits Fabric for binding and I just love how Amy’s fabric lines all play so nicely together.

IMG_5268

Yup, this one’s my favorite! These babies might be staying out, after all Winter is right around the corner here in Chicago! Maybe I’ll have a matching quilt by the first snowfall.

IMG_5276

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing my pillows today! As always, my wish is that you leave here inspired to try something new.  Head on over to my Instagram for your chance to win a pack of Clover’s Wonder Fuse and their new Marbled Glass Head Pins (which are so cute I had to tell my boys, no they could not play with them!). Thank you Clover for sponsoring this giveaway!

 

One Response to “Wonder Fuse Snowflake Pillows”

  1. Dori Troutman Says:

    Wow Faith!!! How did you think of those snowflakes? That is brilliant. They sure do have a nice smooth finish to them. I’m anxious to try the Clover Wonder Fuse. I’ve never tried it.

    Your hand quilting stitches are so perfect. And I agree with you; it is my favorite relaxing thing to do also. What tips did you learn from Mary? I need to learn her tips too!

    I love Amy’s LesPetit stripes for binding. I used it on a project recently too and it is so perfect.

    Beautiful job again Faith!

    Hugs,

    Dori

Leave a Reply

