Dolly Book Tour

Dolly_Book_Tour_RileyBlakeDesigns

Hello friends! Welcome to the Dolly Book Tour! I am so excited to be kicking things off here on Sarana Avenue for Elea Lutz’s new book Dolly for Riley Blake Designs. I have been a fan of Elea’s work ever since I started sewing, I remember looking at her first fabric line Milk, Sugar & Flower seeing all the pretty things being made with her sweet designs and thinking to myself that maybe one day I would be able to make sweet things just like those. Elea’s work just keeps getting sweeter and it’s a true honor to be a part of this wonderful book tour.

IMG_5663

Dolly has everything I look for in a good maker book; beautiful pictures, sweet projects in a variety of sizes and skill levels, clear and easy to follow directions, and plenty of room to make things your own style. I had the hardest time choosing what project to make so I decided to start with two (which was still a struggle! They are ALL so cute!). First up, let me introduce you to my very own Dolly:

IMG_5874

When my husband came home and saw her sitting on my desk, he asked if I had made myself into a doll, I told him yes I had, because who doesn’t want to be an adorable doll?! Dark hair with natural highlights? Check! Messy bun? Check! Dark eyes? Check! Although I maybe should have dressed her in leggings and t shirt but I think we can all agree her little skirt and top are much cuter!

IMG_5879

I didn’t have matching dark brown thread so I decided to add “highlights” to her hair and no “Faith” doll would be complete without curly wisps of hair on her face. Aurifil 12 weight thread was perfect for her eyes and lips. The touch of lace was an afterthought to fancy her up a bit, it’s all in the details, right?

IMG_5866

When my sister and I were little we loved wearing socks with lace trim, we called them party socks and wore them every chance we could, so I thought it only right to give Dolly her very own “party socks” with lace peaking out from her boots.

IMG_5867

This little yellow floral print is my absolute favorite from Elea’s Little Dolly Fabric line for Penny Rose Fabrics, it reminds me of the little flowers on a favorite blanket I had growing up that my baby now snuggles with. I love her little messy bun, my hair too is ALWAYS in a bun.

IMG_5869

Dolly was SO much fun to make and I love how Elea included so many different ways to make her your very own, from hair styles to socks and sleeve options and even fancy eyelashes! The little skirt was so quick and fun, I think she will need some more wardrobe options. As soon as I finished making her I wanted to start all over again and make another! Aren’t those the best kind of projects? The ones you want to make over and over. Good thing I have plenty of little nieces in my life who clearly need their very own Dolly too.

IMG_5850

This adorable dollhouse quilt was shown at Spring Market and I absolutely fell in love with the sweet design, when I saw it up close in the book I knew I wanted to make one myself. It’s a pretty big play quilt measuring 37×58 inches and there are details galore! I had so much fun making each little room to my liking, adding and changing bits here and there. This was one of those projects that held my interest from beginning to end with all the steps it included, from each tiny fabric choice, the tracing, cutting, ironing, cutting again, ironing again, and finally sewing; it reminded me of the crafting I did as a child and the simple joys it brought.

IMG_5859

Welcome to Little Dolly’s home, make yourself comfortable while we take you on a little tour.

IMG_5856

Here we have a sweet little kitchen with pink gingham curtains, a puppy along with his bone and dish, and a fresh pot of applesauce simmering on the stove.

IMG_5853

Upstairs we have a beautiful bathroom with a claw foot tub, perfect for bathing Puppy or Little Dolly. I added the ribbons of water and made the tub into a little pocket and no bath is complete without a yellow rubber ducky!

IMG_5855

Next we have a perfectly cozy living room where Little Dolly can snuggle up in her big chair to read a good book after a long day of sewing and puppy care.

IMG_5851

At the top of the house I added a sewing room complete with sewing machine, iron and Little Dolly’s very own Elea Lutz fabric stash, sure to be the envy of her Little Dolly friends! The sewing machine is a design by Minki Kim that just happened to be the perfect size for our little house.

IMG_5854

Here we leave Little Dolly tucked into her bed to snuggle with her favorite Bunny, night, night Little Dolly.

IMG_5862

And lastly, we have a tiny little mouse living way up in the attic, because no doll story would be complete without a sweet mouse family scampering around the attic after the house is fast asleep.

IMG_5864

Have you fallen in love with this sweet play quilt like I have? Are you thinking of the ways you could make this project your own and of all the fun little details you could add here and there? Perhaps colors and fabric prints are coming to mind as well. This my friend is inspiration and Elea’s book is FULL of it. Full of sweet projects just waiting to be made and treasured for years to come.

IMG_5865

Looks like Puppy is getting into the apples! The fabrics for my projects are Little Dolly by Elea Lutz for Penny Rose Fabrics and Riley Blake solids. Threads are a variety of colors and weights from Arifiul. I used Clover Wonder Fuse to back each of my applique templates. Notions and trims are from my personal collection.

IMG_5878

This little heap of Dolly mess just brings a smile to my face. For now they are sitting in my room looking cute. Scratch that, this morning I found my two little boys playing trucks and planes on the house lines, haha, boys!

I hope you enjoyed seeing my makes today, this has honestly been the most fun sewing that I have done in a long time and I truly enjoyed it from beginning to end. Thank you Elea for making such a wonderfully sweet book, I can’t wait to make more of your projects!

This is just the beginning of the Dolly Book Tour and I for one can not wait to see what the rest of my friends have made! Make sure to follow along for all the fun and inspiration!

Monday 9/18 Faith Essenburg @faithessenburg https://saranaave.wordpress.com
Friday 9/22 Melissa Mortenson @polkadotchair http://www.polkadotchair.com
Monday 9/25 Lauren Nash @transientart  http://transientart.com/
Friday 9/29 Sedef Imer @downgrapevinelane http://www.downgrapevinelane.com/
Monday 10/2 Jemima Flendt @tiedwitharibbon http://www.tiedwitharibbon.com/
Friday 10/6 Jina Barney @jinabarney http://jinabarneydesignz.blogspot.com/
Monday 10/9 Ayda Algin @cafenohut http://cafenohut.blogspot.com/
Friday 10/13 Veronica Marroquin @vividfelicity https://vividfelicity.wordpress.com/
Monday 10/16 Ange Hamilton @alittlepatchwork https://alittlepatchwork.wordpress.com/
Friday 10/20 Nadra Ridgeway @ellisandhiggs https://www.ellisandhiggs.com/
IMG_5871
Have a wonderfully creative week and come back to Sarana Avenue again soon!
-Faith

 

 

 

 

27 Responses to “Dolly Book Tour”

  1. sherry g. Says:

    Oh Faith, these are just too adorable! That little mouse! You did such a wonderful job with these, you can see all the love you put into them.

  2. Jenni Says:

    Faith! You did an AMAZING job!!! Everything about your quilt and doll are completely adorable!!! As always, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog post!

  3. Welcome to the Doll House: Dolly Book Tour | Riley Blake Designs Says:

    […] HERE to visit Sarana Ave for more photos and details about these […]

  4. LINDA Says:

    So cute! Thanks for sharing your ideas!!!

  5. Elea Says:

    Faith!! Your post and amazing projects have left me speechless. I’ve been sitting here scrolling back and forth, my eyes are watering up. The details, the love, your kind spirit in every stitch. I really don’t have the words to describe what a joy it is to see your heart shine through in your doll and dollhouse quilt. I am honored, my friend. I truly am. And your little details melt my heart, too. The dog bone, the mouse in the attic, the wisps of hair on the doll! Wow. Just wow!!! Beautiful, beautiful in every way. From the bottom of my heart, thank you for sharing these wonderful projects and for the kind words about the book. I think I’ll sit here and take all the sweetness in a while longer …. amazing! xoxo Elea

    • saranaave Says:

      Oh Elea, you are so sweet! Thank YOU for such a beautiful book with the sweetest projects and THE sweetest fabrics to go with! You really can’t go wrong and you make it so easy for others to sew sweet things! Thank you! I had SO much fun making!

  6. Allison in Alabama Says:

    Absolutely adorable!!!

  7. Kristin Says:

    Faith! You have outdone yourself! I love every single thing you made! Well done girl!

  8. Michelle Says:

    Faith! What a wonderful start to the Dolly book tour! I love how you’ve made the dolly your own, and that sewing room! Just fabulous!

  9. lisacrafty Says:

    Such gorgeous makes! Love you Faith!💗

  10. Dori Troutman Says:

    Dear Faith,

    I think probably I’ve said this before. But this REALLY IS your best post ever!!! 🙂 It was so “from the heart” and those are always my favorite kind of posts. Plus the amazing detail to your makes. The sewing room… so amazing. I love everything about every single bit of it.

    You’re a joy to know, Faith!

    Dori

  11. Trae522 Says:

    I absolutely LOVE your quilt and doll!! I bought the book to make the same projects. I can’t wait to dive into these. I adore your extra touches. I hope that I can be half as creative! I don’t see how I can miss with this beautiful fabric though.

  12. LJ Says:

    What adorable projects. Dolly must be a fabulous book – I am so looking forward to seeing all the neat projects that the book has to offer. Elea’s creativity is fantastic.

  13. Karen Says:

    So stinking cute Faith!

  14. Cindy Says:

    The detail you put into this is incredible! Everything is so perfect. Beautiful work and I love the stories on how things came together…like the lace socks you and your sister loved…just precious!!

Leave a Reply

