La Conner Blog Tour

IMG_6307

Hi friends! Welcome to my stop on the La Conner Blog Tour, I am so excited to share what I’ve made with Jera’s beautiful new line for Lecien Fabrics. Last year I had the honor of making a quilt for Jera’s new book Quilt As You Go Made Vintage, I learned so much from her first book Quilt As You Go Made Modern, I love how she combines the traditional with the modern to make such lovely work, it’s a book I go to often for tips and inspiration. Do you see that stack up there in the pretty pink basket? This line is full of color and endless options, how beautiful would a Christmas quilt be in the reds and greens? Or a spring quilt in teals and pinks? OK, you get the point! Right? It’s a beautiful line with endless possibilities, a perfect addition to any fabric stash.

IMG_6296

I wanted to make a classic quilt pattern that would show off the colors in the La Conner fabric line, I was inspired by Heidi Staples’ Big Bear Cabin Quilt and she was so kind to let me work from her design, with a few changes to accommodate for sizing. I am really loving how this turned out! I was able to use most of the colors along with a few added in from Jera’s first line, High Tea which go together beautifully.

IMG_6298

I just love the strawberries, flowers, and gingham prints. This was my very first time trying out Free Motion Quilting and it was a lot of fun. Just simple loops quilted in Aurifil 2324. I am currently testing out the brand new Janome Memory Craft 6700P and it really took all the guess work out of something so overwhelming as FMQ. Smooth sailing and pretty even stitches considering my beginner status.

IMG_6302

I used some High Tea fabrics to back this quilt and you can see more of my imperfect quilting up close here. But really I couldn’t be happier with this quilt! I cant wait to wash it and see all the wonderful crinklyness. I think I’ve caught the FMQ bug and I’ll be doing more of it in the future, maybe some to go along with the patterns in Quilt As You Go Made Vintage!

IMG_6297

Several of the fabrics in this line have a beautiful gold metallic shimmer to them, which give this line a little something extra. And really those greens are just begging to become something for Christmas!

IMG_6300

I just love it! I really should keep it hung on the wall but I think it will end up being a lap quilt instead.

IMG_6303

This next quilt is one I made earlier this year for Spring Quilt Market, using the Cozy Cabin pattern by Jera. It is a bit wrinkly from its long travels to Huston and then all the way to Japan and back home again to West Chicago.

IMG_6305

Here you can see the bits of gold on the strawberry print and I added some Lecien lace trim to the binding and made a little tutorial for adding it which you can find HERE.

IMG_6306

It is always a treat to make for Market and always a treat to work with Lecien Fabrics. Jera’s new line is in shops now and is just waiting to be made into all kinds of goodness! She has many free patterns on her blog if you need any inspiration and make sure to check out the full line up of makers for the LA Conner Blog Tour over at Jera’s blog.

Thank you for stopping by today, as always I hope you leave here inspired to try something fun for yourself.

8 Responses to “La Conner Blog Tour”

  1. Jenni Says:

    Beautiful quilts Faith!! I love your FMQ! You did such a nice job. I definitely need this line for a Christmas quilt this year…it’s so perfect!

  2. LINDA Says:

    Such beautiful projects! Love ‘LaConnor Collection’! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Rosemaryflower Says:

    Oh Faith, I am inspired. I love both of your creations. This fabric is really beautiful

  4. Dori Troutman Says:

    Dear sweet Faith, I’m always inspired when I leave your blog and your IG feed! You are the real deal and that is what I love about you so much! 🙂

    You FMQ is so totally perfect. I’m just never happy with mine. Everytime I make a quilt (even though I’ve ever only done it on lap quilt size and smaller) I feel like I’ve ruined it. But yours looks gorgeous.

    Thanks for sharing and thanks always for your amazing encouragement.

    Hugs,

    Dori

    • saranaave Says:

      Dori, you are just the sweetest! I bet your quilting is just lovely! I’m curious to try FMQ on my little own machine just to see how much of the good quilting was from this beautiful Janome! I’ll keep you posted😉

Leave a Reply

