Merry And Bright Collection

IMG_3714

Hi there! Over here we are busy wrapping up Summer and sadly getting ready for the start of another school year, and while the temps in the Midwest are still sunny warm, my sewing room has been all Christmas!

IMG_3835

When I saw this Merry and Bright Collection by Dani Mogstad for Riley Blake Designs, I jumped at the chance to play with it. The colors are perfect and the prints have this beautiful vintage look to them.

IMG_3634

I wanted to make a simple quilt block that would show off the prints really well, I almost went with a basic large scale patchwork to let the prints really shine but landed on this block called First Place from Emily Dennis‘ book Modern Quilts Block By Block. It ended up being really easy because of the way Emily has her patterns laid out. I just love the look of all these blocks together.

IMG_3849 (1)

Ahhhh! Makes my Christmas loving heart happy! I love the mix of greens from dark to light along with the pop of pinks and red. The low volume prints are a must in any winter fabric stash, I’ll be ordering more of those!

IMG_3834

I used a soft cream solid from RBD to match the retro feel of the colors. Each block is 15 inches and this generous lap quilt measures 60×75.

IMG_3851

The backing is a small red gingham that I just fell in love with and for binding I used several of the green prints. I kept the quilting simple with wavy vertical lines every three inches using a soft cream Aurifil thread (2000).

IMG_3850

I couldn’t possibly choose a favorite print from this line, the gifts, the vintage looking ornaments and cars with trees tied on the tops, the adorable deer and the larger scale print with Santas and snowmen, all so perfect!

IMG_3832

Now I’m ready for a cup of hot coco and a cozy fire with this quilt! Well, almost ready!

IMG_3833

How cute would Christmas clothes be in this line!? A family of matching pajamas or dresses and shirts? There is even an adorable ready to sew advent calendar! Really with a line this cute you can’t go wrong! Check your favorite quilt shops now for Merry and Bright and get a head start on your Holiday sewing!

One Response to “Merry And Bright Collection”

  1. Merry and Bright – First Place Quilt Block – Riley Blake Designs Says:

    […] stopping by SARANA AVE. today for a look at Faith’s beautiful holiday quilt featuring fabric from Dani […]

Leave a comment