Anna Maria Horner Showcase

IMG_2035

Well this was fun! Free Spirit Fabrics along with Aurifil Thread and Anna Maria Horner teamed up for a special showcase with some of the Aurifil artisans. We were each sent three fat quarters of Anna’s Passionflower line and a coordinating thread, I requested mine to be a 12 weight so that I could add some hand stitching to my project.

IMG_2070

I had no idea what I would make with my fabrics, maybe a tea towel or coasters but when I saw these beautiful fabrics I decided to go big! I fussy cut a large floral collection from one of the prints and machine stitched it to another.

IMG_2076

The striped fabric really spoke to me and I wanted something that would be in and around our home in constant use. It also plays well as a summer patio pillow to brighten up our outdoor space.

IMG_2069

I used the Aurifil 12 weight thread (color 1148) to outline the applique flowers and add some subtle decorative stitching on the stripes. I have been loving working with 12 weight and adding hand stitches to ALL the projects, it’s a simple way to ramp up any handmade project and give it that extra bit of “wow” factor.

IMG_2074

I used the entire fat quarter for the front, only cutting off the salvage so the pillow measures about 21×18 which I was able to use a $2 Ikea pillow insert bunched up a bit. I am so happy with how this turned out that I will have to make more for around our home! Who knew that all it took to make a great pillow was three fat quarters!

IMG_2072

For the back I used all of the third fabric in this beautiful gray and added a panel of the floral for my pillow pocket. I made the pocket extra deep for stuffing that bigger pillow in.

IMG_2071

Detail of my big wonky stitches. The colors in this fabric are simply stunning and a pillow is an easy way to add a pop of color to any room (or patio)!

IMG_2075

I brought the pillow in when it started raining and it goes well with our favorite ratty old chair in the living room as well. Later in the day I found my oldest cozied up with it on the couch which filled my heart FULL. I suppose it can’t be helped in this house, handmade things just seem to travel about from room to room as needed.

IMG_2068

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you have enjoyed what you see and leave here feeling inspired. Be sure to follow along with Aurifil Thread, Free Spirit Fabrics,  Anna Maria Horner and myself on Instagram for more ideas and inspiration!

 

 

10 Responses to “Anna Maria Horner Showcase”

  1. Tammy Says:

    This is sewww awesome Faith! I love how your brain works and how you can take a little fabric some thread and turn it into such a great make!! I love your pillow!!! Your hand stitching adds the perfect little touch to this bright, cheerful pillow!!!!
    I may have to copycat this fabulous make of yours.😻
    Passionflower is a gorgeous collection!!!!!

  2. Rosemaryflower Says:

    This is really really so adorable. AMH has the most amazing fabric. This is a lovely way to show it off.

  3. Wendy Welsh Says:

    This looks fantastic outdoors on your sunny deck. I just love all those bright colours ready for summer.

  4. PersimonDreams Says:

    so pretty! Love how creative you are!

  5. Anna Maria Horner + Aurifil Artisans – AURIbuzz Says:

    […] Throw Pillow by Faith Essenberg of SaranaAve […]

  6. remondbernadette Says:

    Une bien jolie création!

Leave a comment